Hamilton tops list of drivers with point penalties ahead of season-opener

When a driver commits a serious offence or accident, stewards are obliged to hand them a penalty point. This penalty gets added to the driver’s license. After 12 such breaches have been committed, a suspension is dished out.

Many may not be aware of this rule since it has never happened in the sport since this system was introduced in 2014. Let’s take a look at how things stand now.

The way the system has been mapped is that any penalty points awarded remain in place for one year. As a result, very few drivers enter this season with a clean slate.

Hamilton had at one point flirted too close to the limit, but he has some breathing space at the start of the season.

However, along with George Russell, he still leads the way.

Lewis Hamilton – 6 penalty points

Austria – 2 (Not slowing down enough under yellow flag)
Austria – 2 (Causing collision)
Italy – 2 (Pitted during closed pit lane)

George Russell – 6 penalty points

Great Britain – 3 (Too little brake under yellow flag)
Turkey – 3 (Ditto)

Lando Norris – 5 penalty points

Styria – 2 (Overtaking under yellow flag)
Turkey – 3 (Not slowing down enough under yellow flag)

Kimi Räikkönen – 4 penalty points

Hungary – 1 (Car placed incorrectly on grid)
Tuscany – 1 (Wrongly entered the pit lane)
Eifel – 2 (Causing a collision)

Antonio Giovinazzi – 3 penalty points

Great Britain – 1 (Incorrect behaviour behind safety car)
Italy – 2 (Pitted during closed pit lane)

Lance Stroll – 3 penalty points

Portugal – 2 (Causing collision)
Portugal – 1 (Ignoring track limits)

Charles Leclerc – 3 penalty points

Styria – 1 (Obstruction)
Sakhir – 2 (Causing collision)

Sergio Pérez – 2 penalty points

Spain – 1 (Blue flags ignored)
Tuscany – 1 (Causing collision)

Daniel Ricciardo – 1 penalty point

Russia – 1 (Ignoring instructions from race direction)

Esteban Ocon – 1 penalty point

Silverstone 70 – 1 (Obstruction)

Carlos Sainz – 1 penalty point

Turkey – 1 (Obstruction)

Sebastian Vettel, Max Verstappen, Valtteri Bottas, Nicholas Latifi and Pierre Gasly all start the season with no penalty points against their license. Meanwhile, newcomers Mick Schumacher, Nikita Mazepin, Yuki Tsunoda and the evergreen Fernando Alonso will naturally start with zero penalties.

Add Comment